toxic

It’s not me, it’s you.

You are not a rehab. It’s not your job to fix everyone.

-Unknown

Disclaimer: This is not a piece of revengeful writing, although it is based on real life experiences and I love to make content literally out of the good and the bad (xd). I submitted it in a contest whose theme was toxicity. Fun fact: this was actually supposed to be a song.

You left me wondering what it feels like to be loved,
Millions of worldly words, that in my head, you stuffed,
surrounded by people who love me, and tall buildings,
But my hopes are pinned, that one day, from that building, 
you’ll advance and maybe see me.
As the gentle zephyr* drives me,
Did I did drive you away?
Were you intimidated by my sway?
A dozen of thoughts that gush in my head,
A quarter dozen of thoughts were left unsaid.
For you, I hope,
I hope,
You dare to see the people whom you love,
To never bluff,
perhaps on a Monday, 
Or perhaps, on their birthday.
You find the courage to write a few more lines for them again,
And maybe able to get on the friendship train,
through the dingiest of tunnels, or in an overcast ,
or the wildest of forests,
Choose them whom you can call for yourself, the best.
I have realized, you can be anything in this world,
But you still prefer a mindset as narrow and short 
as 'the lil black dress' 
For this dress maybe little for you, but 
my outlook will always be prettier
and,
magnanimity**  way larger,
will be my biggest cheerleader,
and alone you'll be, left in a corner,
like someone's unfinished business.
Crazy! they want to keep you from drowning,
when they pushed you to drown. 
I twirl at you just like
 I twirl at my haters,
I'm the earnest one, 
and you are a traitor. 
Your petty crimes,
deserve no pennies, or dimes.
I ran, and ran, 
who made me feel unwanted, unloved,
You left me wondering what it feels like to be loved.
no wonderment,
I exclaim,
"Time to shine so bright,
you will be left stunned," 
This, I write in word,
no refunds,
for you can not judge others by a yardstick,
when you yourself are a toxic!

Ananya Shanker©️2023
(All rights reserved)

*a soft gentle wind
**generosity

I can bet that you’ve had toxic people around you, be it school, college or office or your house. The ones who do you wrong, be mean to you, for absolutely no reason at all for what you do, what you wear, what you eat and the list goes on and on. These broken people are never fixed as that gets them attention. Let them be your unfinished toxic business!

Thank you. Like, share and follow!

2 thoughts on “toxic”

  1. Very touching ❣️
    We do say that the whole world is toxic,but Life says sail out of this toxicity. There are still good people in this world like YOU.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment